If you knew sushi…

I have to admit I’m still coming to terms with sushi. Some of it (admittedly the pieces that look like food I recognise) I relish, some of it I hesitantly try and then enjoy and some of it I just let slide past me on the conveyor belt.

Even on my most unadventurous day, however, I could definitely manage sweet sushi, made with Rice Krispies, chocolate and other good things. (Thanks to Boing Boing.)

I did wonder if this was the only ‘fake sushi’ out there. Not a bit of it. Turns out there is a booming market in non-sushi sushi.

You can get sushi candles, wind-up sushi, toy sushi for kids (“This realistic sushi set encourages cultural exploration”), squeaky sushi for dogs, catnip sushi for cats and sushi jewellery to wear, well, I’m not sure where you’d wear it. You can also knit your own sushi, if you feel so inclined.

And if all that is not enough, this site offers a crazy orgy of sushi-emblazoned products – watches, bins, soaps, tissues, sticking plasters and much more. I sort of want the sushi rug. Total bargain at $18.95.

And if you’re need of some knowledge to back up your sushi-loving image, where else would you go but the wondrous Wikipedia. More than you could ever need to know about sushi, unless you’re writing a PhD thesis about it. Which is unlikely.

Leave a Reply

