Learning to love sweet potatoes

I need to get back to this low-GI diet I’m supposed to be on so took a baby step yesterday by buying sweet potatoes instead of normal potatoes. Potatoes are high-GI and sweet potatoes are not, apparently.

It’s embarrassing to admit but I’ve never bought a sweet potato in my life before. “Do you know what it is?” I asked the husband, waving a raw, peeled sweet potato at him. “A carrot?” he responded hopefully. “No? Maybe a turnip?”

Anyway, I didn’t really know what to do with it so chopped it into chunks, drizzled those with olive oil and sprinkled over sea salt and black pepper and baked the lot for 45 mins at 200C. They were nice if unexciting. Soft and sweet and slightly caramelised around the edges.

There are five more sweet potatoes downstairs and I need to find something to do with them that will go with lamb chops tonight. Something that will render them a little more tasty, ideally. Time to hit Google…I will report back.

2 responses to “Learning to love sweet potatoes

  1. Sweet potatoes are one of those veggies best roasted rather than chopped if your priority is the nutritional vlaue. Skins on, roasted in the oven for forty minutes. They’re a base for desserts in japan and Portugal. So roasting also concentrates teh taste. I wrote about it here in case you’re interested in a general sense: http://www.thedietcast.com/archives/35. I thought I’d posted some recipes – thre’s one or two simple ones on mydietfriends.com but I have a couple of dessert recipes which I’ll dig out and post. Nice blog by the way.

  2. Definitely leave the skin on and bake it in the oven. Delicious!

Leave a Reply

