Tartare sauce: cheat’s version

While I wasn’t cooking sweet potatoes, I was cooking other stuff. I had some lovely plaice today (from Kay O’Connell’s, of course. I’m the third generation to buy fish there, which I like). Anyway, was leafing through cookbooks wondering what to serve with it and spotted Delia’s recipe for Tartare Sauce, which basically involved mayonnaise, 2 heaped tblsp gherkins, 2 heaped tblsp capers and 1 level tblsp parsley.

I do like making mayonnaise but I had no eggs so I dug out the Hellman’s, mixed in the various bits and bobs (half the amount she recommended – there are only two of us) and it was delicious.

Leave a Reply

