A little history of Irish food

I still have the January blues but I am perking up greatly at the thought of starting Regina Sexton’s short course in UCC tomorrow: A little history of Irish food. Regina, Ireland’s leading food historian, will take us through the eating habits of the Irish over the past 10,000 years. Food and social history all wrapped up together – it couldn’t be more up my alley. I’m looking forward to learning plenty and meeting a few kindred souls. Be sure and say Hi if you are going too. 🙂

8 responses to “A little history of Irish food

  1. Pingback: Talking to myself, mainly « Kathy Foley

  2. would like to show you some real meats .

  3. I used to enjoy Regina Sexton’s programme on Irish food and its history back in the days when I still had a TV. What’s she like as a lecturer? She always came across as a very enthusiastic person on telly!

  4. Regina is a great lecturer and obviously passionate about her topic. She is also very knowledgeable about wider sociohistoric trends so can put the food history into context.

    The class is lovely too – a few chefs, some former home ec teachers, a couple of culinary arts lecturers and students and a bunch of people, like me, who are just interested. Oh and a lady who used to own a restaurant and brought two types of homemade biscuits to last night’s class. Yum 🙂

  5. Hi Kathy!
    I just googled Regina Sexton and have been browsing through the (literally)hundreds of pages for the last few hours… friday evening…. what are ya gonna do?? Anyway… came across your blog. I like it.. it’s funny. Anyway, I’m taking that class with Regina too. She’s very passionate and so easy to listen to isn’t she. Didn’t see you there wednesday… there were lots more biscuits and cakes… I reckon by the end of the course we’ll have upscaled to a full sit down three course meal!!
    See you next week!
    Orla.

  6. je cherche mail de regina sexton

  7. Would love to do the course. I think maybe I am too late. Would be obliged if you would please let me know.

  8. Sorry did not realise I was reading comments from 2008

Leave a Reply

