The pain! (Chilli Chorizo Pasta)

I’m an idiot. I’m normally obsessive about hand-washing while I cook. Chop, wash, chop, wash. But this evening I’ve been hurrying as I have lots of work to do and dinner is a bit of a formality.

Having brought the pasta sauce to the boil and turned it down to a simmer, I decided to have a quick cigarette before getting stuck into work for another half hour. Once that was smoked, I stretched in the chair, yawned deeply and rubbed my eyes.

Three seconds later, I was flailing blindly around the kitchen, trying to turn on the cold tap so I could wash my hands and then rinse my eyes. What sort of idiot chops chillis and doesn’t give their hands a really good scrubbing directly afterwards? Me, that’s what sort.

The recipe, should you be interested, is one Whip Malone gave me. I didn’t write it down at the time so it’s all a bit arbitrary and approximate.

Chilli Chorizo pasta (For 2)

a six-inch piece of chorizo, chopped small

1 onion, chopped finely

Half a red chilli, chopped finely

4 cloves garlic, crushed

1 tin tomatoes

2 tblsp tomato purée

1 tblsp brown sugar

1 good slosh red wine

salt & pepper

Sauté the chorizo and onion. After two mins, add the garlic and chilli. Give it five mins and add everything else. Bring to boil and simmer for 4o mins to an hour. Serve over pasta. Crunchy bread is good with this too.

Easy & delicious. Just don’t rub your eyes after making it. Or pick your nose, for that matter.

2 responses to “The pain! (Chilli Chorizo Pasta)

  1. Sounds lovely! Will have to try it… love chorizo!

  2. I’ve rubbed various parts of my face after chopping chillis! I never learn! Recipe sounds good though.

Leave a Reply

