The smellier the better…

Planning holidays to the south of France at the moment and to get in the mood, I bought a headily ripe wedge of Brie de Meaux this morning. As a result, the car smells like an old man farted in it but it’s worth it. The Brie is at that stinky melting stage where you can just schmear it on crusty white bread and gorge.

I ate half of it. The other half is in the fridge. The husband will have my guts for garters when he comes home and catches the wanton stench of it (which will be at the end of our street, probably).

I had a quick look online for recipes involving brie but I’m not sure that anything beats the combo of brie and crusty French bread. Mind you, a turkey, brie and cranberry toasted sambo is pretty good too.

Incidentally, this site says Brie de Meaux goes perfectly with champagne, which would have made for a very decadent solo lunch had I known earlier.

3 responses to “The smellier the better…

  1. You could try a very simple raspberry coulis, drizzled over the warmed cheese.

    Fresh raspberries, sugar to taste (or none, if you like, as I do, that insane, mouth shattering sense of raw taste) and a tiny amount of water.

    A little water in a saucepan, heat it up, tumble in the raspberries, and keep on a high heat, stirring, until they break down into just jiuice and seeds.

    Strain through muslin, or a sieve to get rid of the seeds, and tastse. Season with sugar if you prefer your coulis to be sweet. If you’re not certain, don’t. Raspberries are divine enough as they are.

    Warm the brie – or bake an entire round, and serve drizzled with coulis, and a sprig of mint.

  2. I don’t think cheese is worth eating unless it smells like an old tramp’s crotch!! I love Epoisse that you can get in Sainsbury’s or Tesco, (I’m sure you can get it other places too) just smeared on crusty bread. I also love camembert warmed in the oven in it’s little wooden tub, then crusty bruchetta dipped in it. hmmmmm

  3. Ooh thanks Abulafia…I’ve had issues with raspberry coulis in the past!

    I haven’t tried that Camembert trick, Sarah, although I had been meaning to give it a try with some Vacherin-Mont D’Or, which I noticed for sale in the English Market here in Cork.

Leave a Reply

