Retro Chicken Gorgetastic

This is one of the few dinners I make that relies heavily on processed ingredients. I’m a disgrace, I know, but the resulting dish is so comforting and delicious that it’s worth the slip in standards.

My mum got this recipe on a cooking course in the 1970s. I think the original has celery in it but I can’t stand celery so I’ve always used sweetcorn. It also used to have a more prosaic name but a housemate of mine christened it Chicken Gorgetastic about six years ago and so it has been called ever since.

It was one of the first things I ever learned to cook and I’ve lost count of the number of people I have fed it to over the years. Without exception, every single one cleaned their plates.

I have, however, sad news for anyone living outside Ireland. Using crisps (potato chips) other than Tayto Cheese & Onion just does not produce the same result. I have tried variations but I always return to the one true unbeatable Irish crisp. You can buy them online but not in the UK.

Chicken gorgetastic (serves 2 – can pretty much be multiplied up infinitely)

2 chicken breasts (or equivalent in leftover roast chicken)

1 sml tin Campbells Cream of Chicken soup

4 tblsps mayonnaise (I use Hellman’s Light)

1 sml onion, chopped

1 sml tin sweetcorn, drained

2 sml bags Tayto Cheese & Onion, crushed

If using raw chicken breasts, poach them quickly in boiling water until just cooked and then chop roughly. If using leftover chicken, just chop roughly. Mix with everything except the crisps and put into an ovenproof dish. Cover with generous layer of crushed crisps. Cook in oven at 200C for 20 mins. Serve with basmati rice.

It’s retro, yummy and so much more than the sum of its parts.

5 responses to “Retro Chicken Gorgetastic

  1. A friend of mine makes this, also from a 70s recipe of her mother’s, and there are precious few scraps left over afterwards if we’re around for dinner! Another friend sometimes, if she’s stuck for ideas and time, has presented Angel Delight for desert, to great acclaim apparently although I must admit that wouldn’t really be my cup of tea.

  2. Agreed on the Angel Delight, although we never got it at home so I wouldn’t have that nostalgia for it. One of the items on Ryan Tubridy’s show this morning was about how most people struggle to cook more than four or five different dinners and also singing the praises of good old-fashioned Irish food like…fish fingers and Chivers jelly with icecream.

  3. Fo, Who christened it ‘Chicken Gorgetastic’ again???

    Brings back memories.

    Here – I bought a raclette grill in Brussels for a laugh.

    Must have yourself and Gary up for a whirl during Summer!!

    H

  4. Your memory may be playing tricks on you…it was Rory in Donnybrook, although it does sound like a potential Camism. Mind you, you got it for dinner alright – everyone did 🙂

    Will we drive 130 miles to share melted cheese with you? Of course we will. Meanwhile, will mail ya.

  5. MAke something similar, mix mayo adn curry powder, pour over chicken, with broc/ mushrooms and onio. top with breadcrumbs and cheese, baked for 30 mins yumtastic. My aunt made it a few years ago, thinkit is called Chiken Festival.

Leave a Reply

