Happiness is…

It has rather stuck in my mind that one of the 10 points of the Happiness Manifesto on the BBC series Making Slough Happy was ‘Plant something and nurture it’.

That’s not why I’ve been planting herbs and vegetables but had I thought about it, I would have imagined that growing food would have induced a deeply content and quiet sort of happiness.

Far from it. I’m fecking ecstatic. Last night, I watered all my seed trays and seed beds and there wasn’t a hint of green to be seen. This morning, tiny seedlings have broken through in almost all of them. I am now a proud mama to infant thyme, marjoram, oregano, basil and rocket. No hint of life yet from any of the other seeds I planted but I live in hope.

The extent to which I was overjoyed to see the little guys poking through really surprised me. I actually giggled out loud in the garden. The neighbours must think I’m mad.

Leave a Reply

